# Recipients of the National PTA Life Memberships and Lifetime Achievement Awards presented by MCCPTA

Homer Elseroad	1975	Marney Jacobs	2007
Joan Elias	1979	Jane de Winter	2008
Lorraine Reddy	1980	Kay Romero	2010
Joyce Constantine	1984	Dr. Jerry Weast	2011
Ellie Stuck	1986	Juan Johnson	2012
Nancy Wiecking	1986	Kristin Trible	2012
Mary Ann Bowen	1993	Donna Pfeiffer	2013
Vicki Rafel	1993	Janette Gilman	2014
Sharon DiFonzo	1994	Chris McDermott	2015
Charlotte Joseph	1996	Dr. Judith Docca	2016
Sharon Freidman	1997	Michael Durso	2016
Bea Gordon	1998	Frances Frost	2017
Paul Vance	1999	Lynne Harris	2018
Steven Seleznow	2000	Jill Ortman-Fouse	2019
Fred Lowenbach	2001	Tracie Potts	2020
Linda Rigsby	2002	Cynthia Simonson	2022
George Margolies	2003	Laura Stewart	2023
Cindy Kerr	2006		

# Recipients of the Maryland PTA Life Memberships and Lifetime Achievement Awards presented by MCCPTA

Sharon Cox, Alan Stein, Tom Jones	1999
Jennifer Brown, Joanne Busalacchi, Ginny Hillhouse, Ivette Laureano	2000
Linna Barnes, Trish Clark, Ann Black, Fran Brenneman, Samira Hussein	2001
Isiah Leggett, Gene Thirolf, Michelle Turner, Marilyn Udell	2002
Madelyn Hamilton, Mark Kelsch, Jerry Loux	2003
Neal Meyerson, Michelle Yu, Link Hoewing	2004
B J Mills, Akies Muskin, Kathy Parnell	2005
Kathy Alsmeyer, Sandra Walker, Carole Brand	2006
Don Kress, Phil Kauffman	2007
DeBora King, April Keyes	2008
Kate Savage, Steve Augustino	2009
Liz Wheeler	2010
Henry "Hank" Heller	2011
Frances Frost	2012
Debra Lang	2013
Julie Reiley	2014
Paul Geller	2015
Jeanne Taylor	2016
Tracie Potts	2017
Kellie Schoolar-Reynolds	2018
Deneen Gordon, Parent Community Educator	2019
Oriole Saah, Parkland MS Treasurer	2020

# Recipients of the MCCPTA "Partners in Education" Award recognizing outstanding partnerships between schools and community programs

Mr. H.J. Stephenson, Aladdin Computers	1998
S.H.A.R.P. Street Suspension Program	1999
SPARK Program	2000
Carrabba's Italian Grill	2002
Mr. Harry Badgasian	2003
Montgomery College	2005
MCPS Instructional TV	2006
American Speech, Language, Hearing Association	2007
Lockheed Martin	2008
Knights of Columbus	2009
Carlos A. Scandiffio, Pres & CEO, Allworld Language Consultants, Inc.	2010
Chris Taylor	2012
Omar F. Martinez, Operating Partner, Silver Diner	2014
Mike Schoen, AtoZ Directories	2015
Kirsten Rhodes, Big Learning	2016
Montgomery Housing Partnership	2017
The Ace Project, Athletes for Community Excellence	2018
Everymind, Inc.	2020
Mayur Moody, American Diversity Group	2021
Property Management Association	2022
Recipients of the MCCPTA PTA President of the Year Award	

Alyssa Emden, Westland MS PTSA	2011
Jeri Crist, S. Christa McAuliffe ES PTA	2012
Kim Penn, Spark Matsunaga ES and Longview School PTA	2013
Paulette Forrest, Little Bennett ES PTA	2014
Oscar Alvarenga, Summit Hall ES PTA	2015
Michele Ali, South Lake ES PTA	2016
Chris Rutledge, Sligo MS PTSA	2017
Bruce Adelson, Churchill HS PTSA	2018
Kim Summers, Northwest HS PTSA	2019
Carla Morris, Churchill HS PTSA	2020
Jessica Berrellez, Ridgeview MS PTSA	2021
Lyric Winik, Bethesda Chevy Chase HS PTSA	2022
Kim Glassman, Shady Grove MS PTSA	2023

# Recipient of the MCCPTA President's Award recognizing an outstanding contribution to the work of the MCCPTA

Doni	Flynn	2013

## Recipient of the Dad 4 PTA Award

Larry Edmonds, VP of Legislation, MCCPTA	2013
Sunil Dasgupta, Chair, MCCPTA Health and Safety Committee	2018
Michael Miehl, Burnt Mills ES PTA President	2019
Chris Rutledge, Downcounty Consortium Area Vice President, MCCPTA	2020

## Recipient of the Champion for Children Award

Susan Burkinshaw	2013
Chris McDermott, MCCPTA Reflections Chair	2014
Larry Edmonds	2015
Melissa McKenna	2016
JoAnn Burl, Founder/CEP Jeanette's Joy Community Services	2017
Gillian Huebner	2018
Cynthia Simonson	2019
Tracie Potts	2020
Laura Mitchell	2023

## Recipient of the Principal of the Year Award

Dr. Myriam Rogers, Paint Branch HS	2015
Damon Monteleone, Richard Montgomery HS	2016
Dr. Stacy Ashton, Burnt Mills ES	2017
Dr. Debra K. Mugge, Wheaton HS	2018
Brandi Heckert, Churchill HS	2019
Daniel Garcia, Ridgeview MS	2020
Aaron Shin, Parkland MS	2021
Stacey Brown, William Tyler Page ES	2022
Dr. Barbara Woodward, Hallie Wells MS (Ret.)	2023

## Recipient of the Advocacy Award

Lynne Harris	2015
Liz King	2016
Lisa Seigel	2017
Laura Stewart	2018
Mark Eckstein, MCCPTA LGBTQ Subcommittee Chair	2019
Nell Rumbaugh, Wheaton Cluster Coordinator	2020
Tiffany Kelly, Herbert Hoover MS	2021
Laura Mitchell, MCCPTA VP of Advocacy	2022
Lisa Cline, MCCPTA Curriculum Committee, Digital Balance Lead	2023

## Recipient of the Teacher of the Year Award

Grant Goodman, Churchill HS	2020
Angel Mason, Mill Creek Towne ES	2021
Danielle Hessler, Beall ES	2022
Karen Moon, Dr. Sallie K. Ride FS	2023

Rima Craddock, Banneker MS Jeanette Marin, Candlewood ES Andre Jackson, Building Services Manager, Wheaton HS Lilly Greenlee, Northwest HS	2020 2021 2022 2023
Recipient of the Family of the Year Award	
Berrellez Family, Jones Lane ES & Ridgeview MS	2021
Scott Family, Stonegate ES, Farquhar MS, Blake HS	2022
Kaye and Lyndon Orinion, Arcola ES	2023

### MCCPTA Membership Awards, 2021-2022

**Purposeful Programming** – Exhibits a commitment to providing programming that engages their membership while purposefully helping all students reach their potential.

Wilson Wims ES - Arti Varanasi, PTA President

**Powerful Partnership** – Exhibits strong teamwork with the staff and/or administration at their PT(S)A to increase the impact of their PT(S)A's work at their school, or a strong partnership with a local community organization.

Beall ES - Wendy Whitaker, PTA President

**Membership Magic** – Exhibits a commitment to growing their membership using innovative methods.

Bayard Rustin ES - Chau Nguyen, PTA Delegate