# About MCCPTA

The Montgomery County Council of Parent-Teacher Associations, Inc., (MCCPTA), an association of local PTAs and PTSAs in Montgomery County Maryland, is chartered by the Free State PTA. Its goals, in addition to the mission and purposes of PTA, are:

- To grow membership and parent involvement in PTA and our schools, to include and embrace all members of our Montgomery County Public School community;
- To engage parents, staff, and students in meaningful contributions that reflect their unique strengths for the benefit of students and school communities;
- To rally this engaged, growing membership in coordinated advocacy on issues of common concern.

Founded in 1944, MCCPTA has grown from 15 PTAs to 190+. This growth reflects the vital role PTA has had - individually and collectively through the council - in advocating for and meeting the needs of our children, our families, and our schools.

MCCPTA uses its collective strength on a wide range of issues, from budget advocacy to programs that foster creativity and a love of the arts in our children. MCCPTA works closely with MCPS to provide parent perspectives and input in budget discussion, on task forces, and in study groups, and to help disseminate information about school system events, developments, and changes in school system and Board of Education policy. MCCPTA also collaborates with the County Council, other County agencies, and members of the Montgomery County Delegation to the Maryland General Assembly on matters that affect children and youth, keeping these officials apprised on the issues of concern and interest to parents of county students.

#### What Pays for It All

MCCPTA membership dues! MCCPTA dues—\$1.00 per member—are payable to MCCPTA monthly. Checks should be made payable to MCCPTA and sent to the MCCPTA post office box. MCCPTA does not mail invoices; a Google form is available on our website to fill out. It is recommended that checks be sent concurrently to Free State PTA and MCCPTA to help keep membership records straight.

State and National dues--\$2.00 Free State PTA and \$2.25 National PTA for a combined total of \$4.25 per member--are payable to Free State PTA and should be mailed to the Free State PTA office monthly. A quarterly invoice is mailed to each PTA from Free State PTA. State and National dues must be combined and paid by check made out to the Free State PTA and sent to the address below.

Free State PTA

5730 Cottonworth Avenue, Box 20924, Baltimore, MD 21209

Website: www.fspta.org Email: info@fspta.org

# About MCCPTA

All local PTAs are required to purchase liability insurance and directors' and officers' insurance from Association Insurance Management, Inc. (AIM) per Free State PTA requirements. Riders for special events (fairs, dances, etc.) must be purchased separately.

Association Insurance Management, Inc.

(800) 876-4044 Toll Free

PO Box 674051

1974-76 I. Austin Heyman

Dallas, TX 75267-4051 Website: https://aim-companies.com/pta-coverage/

#### **How to Reach the Office**

PO Box 10754, Rockville, MD 20849 Phone: 301-208-0111 Website: https://www.mccpta.org Email: office@mccpta.org

### **How MCCPTA Communicates**

Our MCCPTA website, www.mccpta.org provides current news, information, and links.

To foster communication, MCCPTA maintains robust e-mailing lists which are used to distribute information and facilitate discussion, including one for MCCPTA delegates, the Board of Directors, PTA presidents, and PTA treasurers. Some MCCPTA committees maintain their own e-lists; see the website or contact the committee chair to see if they maintain an e-list and to express your interest in joining the group.

MCCPTA can also be found on social media. "Like" MCCPTA on Facebook and follow us on X. Links to social media can be found at www.mccpta.org.

Former MCCPTA Presidents					
1944-45	Howard Noyes	1976-78	Sandra King-Shaw	2014-16	Frances Frost
1945-47	Leslie Morgan Abbee	1978-80	Joyce Constantine	2016-17	Paul Geller
1947-49	Nathan Gilbert	1980-82	Zoe Lefkowitz	2017-20	Lynne Harris
1949-50	John McIntire	1982-83	Suzanne Carbone	2020-22	Cynthia Simonson
1950-52	David Weed	1983-85	Nancy Dacek	2022-24	Debby Orsak
1952-54	James Reber	1985-87	Vicki Rafel		
1954-55	Myron Isaacs	1987-89	Dianne Smith		
1955-56	Jesse MacKnight	1989-91	Jean Mallon		
1956-58	Paul Howard	1991-93	Sharon Friedman		
1958-59	Pat Holt	1993-94	Nancy King		
1959-60	Reuben Sanders	1994-96	Luella Mast		
1960-62	Joseph Eis	1996-97	Walter Lange		
1962-64	Millard Cass	1997-99	Sharon Cox		
1964-65	Mrs. William Brain	1999-01	Linna Barnes		
1965-66	Robert Hacken	2001-02	Michelle Turner		
1966-68	Walter Schweitzer	2002-04	Michelle Yu		
1968-70	Marion Fox	2004-06	Cindy Kerr		
1970-71	Boris Haskell	2006-08	Jane de Winter		
1971-73	Edwin Jordan	2008-10	Kay Romero		
1973-74	Herbert Benington	2010-12	Kristin Trible		

2012-14 Janette Gilman