Be counted! Send in your Membership Dues.

Your Subtitle text
get involved in PTA at the county level - Join a committee!

Any Montgomery County PT(S)A member can join an MCCPTA Committee. Find your passion among the
Standing or Administrative Committees below and become part of our work!  

Descriptions of Standing committees can be found by clicking on their names below.  
Descriptions of MCCPTA Administrative committees can be found by CLICKING HERE.

MCCPTA Committees
Committee Chair terms run July 1 to June 30

Get involved in PTA at the county level - Join a committee!

Standing Committees

Capital Improvement Program Supports the advocacy of MCCPTA and the individual clusters on capital related issues.  Dedicated to the principle that every child in Montgomery County is entitled to attend school in a safe, secure, healthy and modern facility.  Works to see that MCPS meets countywide facilities’ needs, and in particular, that MCPS keeps pace with planned additions, modernizations and county-wide programs to replace and maintain building facilities.

Represents parents, students, and teachers, advocating for effective course content to engage and to develop children toward readiness for 21st century careers, whether college or vocational-bound, and communicates current and potential curriculum issues or concerns to PTA members and MCPS.

  • Elementary Education
  • Middle School Education
  • High School Education
  • Student Service Learning (SSL)

Gifted Child Committee
– Advocates on behalf of children who require accelerated and enriched instruction to achieve their full potential.  Seeks to increase public awareness of the special needs of all highly able learners and to assist their parents in guiding the education of these children.  Promotes the philosophy that appropriately challenging opportunities can be provided for advanced level learners without undermining appropriate educational opportunities for on-grade level students.

Health and Safety
Assists in evaluating MCPS policies and practices to determine areas of concerns for the safety, health, and well-being of students and teachers, and works as a partner with MCPS and other community leaders to advocate for improvement.  Guided by the philosophy that every student and teacher has an inherent right to be in a safe, healthy and secure environment while they are under the care of the public school system.

Membership and Engagement –
Works with local leaders to grows the membership of PTA to increase the power of our collective voice for the children of Montgomery County.  Organizes workshops, outreach activities, and tailored mentoring in an effort to help each local grow membership and encourage engagement by all parents, staff, and, where applicable, students.

Multicultural Awareness
– Focuses on developing strategies to increase the participation of multicultural parents and students in their school community.  Plans activities for diverse ethnic groups at schools in order to improve their involvement and student performance through cultural and academic activities.  Continue to act as a resource for school staff, as required.

Focuses on informing parents of students in ESOL about opportunities and programs in MCPS for their children.

Operating Budget
– Supports the advocacy of MCCPTA-established priorities on operating budget issues, including representing MCCPTA at MCPS budget meetings.  Priorities reflect the collective input of the MCCPTA Board of Directors and MCCPTA Delegates.

Outreach Events
– Develops and promotes county-wide projects and programs that promote student welfare and academics as organized by and emphasized by MCCPTA.  Works with organizations outside of MCCPTA to promote the goals and mission of the organization.

Special Education
– Acts as a resource and provides communication and information for the special education community, including for parents, caregivers, and staff.  Shares experiences in advocating for children to implement successful family-school partnerships.

Administrative Committees

Awards – Communicates award opportunities and serves as a resource for PTA award information.  Collects nominations for MCCPTA awards, and creates panels to judge and determine award recipients.

– Assures that all PTAs in MCCPTA are aware of their bylaw status, understand the recent revisions to Maryland PTA bylaws, and use bylaws effectively in running their local PTAs.

Nominating Committee
– Solicits and reviews potential candidates for executive committee positions with the intent of selecting a slate of candidates to put forward to the organization.  Supports AVPs and clusters with nomination and election process, reviewing nominations for AVPs and cluster coordinators to ensure compliance with MCCPTA bylaws requirements.  Members are elected by the MCCPTA Delegates Assembly at the October meeting; the chair is elected by the committee members.

Student Involvement –
Aims to bring a student perspective to MCCPTA.  Represents MCCPTA to the Montgomery County regional student governments (MCJC and MCR-SGA), the Maryland Association of Student Councils (MASC), the Montgomery County Students’ Coalition (MCSC), and the Student Member of the Board (SMOB).  Recruits students for MCCPTA projects, involves students with MCCPTA advocacy, and assists PT(S)As in reaching out to and working with local student governments.

– Working closely with MCCPTA leadership, plans, publicizes, and orchestrates at least two (2) training sessions a year in the Fall and Spring to develop local PT(S)A leadership throughout Montgomery County.


  • e-Communications - Supports and moderates MCCPTA e-Lists (listserves), and provides input and guidance on other MCCPTA electronic communications.

  • Public Relations - Works in coordination with MCCPTA President, officers, and committee chairs to provide proactive communication of key positions and events. 

  • Webmaster - Develops and maintains the MCCPTA web presence in coordination with MCCPTA leadership. 



Cultural Arts - Supports and promotes PT(S)A efforts to present high-quality performances, workshops, residencies, and in-school field trips to students in MCPS to enrich their educational program and artistic experiences.

Presidents & Principals Dinner - Organizes the annual dinner at which the work of PT(S)A in Montgomery County is celebrated and MCCPTA officers are installed. 

Reflections - Promotes and increases awareness of the annual National PTA Reflections art program that encourages students to express themselves through creative projects.  Utilizes MCCPTA website and Reflections eList to make local PTAs aware of the program and to provide comprehensive information to the local chairpersons. Runs the county-level competition and awards ceremony. 


Advocacy Events Committee - Cooperates and coordinates with the Legislative Committee and the Vice President-Legislation to organize opportunities for MCCPTA leadership to advocate or to develop relationships for future advocacy with elected officials beyond the hearing room.     

Legislative - Provides information to the membership regarding issues, legislative action, bills, and proposed legislation before the Maryland General Assembly, Montgomery County Council, and US Congress when those actions affect children, families, public education, or the safety of students.